Who's Online

We have 10 guests online
Content View Hits : 125435
50th Anniversary Game PDF Print E-mail

50th Anniversary Game

Paul Marshall celebrated his first trophy as Inter-League manager as the Oldham Sunday League representative team defeated the Bolton at Home Sunday League 3 - 1.

Bolton took the lead after just 2 minutes when Louis Murphy misjudged the pace on a long through ball and allowed the Bolton forward time to slot the ball into the far corner of an empty goal.

Oldham equalized after 20 minutes when Ashley Ainsworth beat the Bolton keeper with a low shot from just outside the area. 

Nathan Barker missed a great chance to put Oldham ahead before the break.

Oldham thenplaying downhill in the second half used the slope to their advantage as Man of the Match Callum Franklin scored twice to give the visitors a deserved victory.

The final Squad was as follows:


Harrison Grant - Crown FC

Roy Radcliffe - Fitton Hill

Cassie Pryce - Fitton Hill

Ashley Shaw - Fitton Hill

Kane Radcliffe - Fitton Hill

Callum Franklin - Fitton Hill

Danny Caldercott - Crown FC

Mitchell Clegg - Crown FC

Andrew Stafford - LKG

Nathan Barker - Crown FC

Louis Murphy - Crown FC

Michael Cattermole - Horseshoe FC

Ashley Ainsworth - Horseshoe FC

Kane Duffy - Crown FC

The game will be covered by Bolton FM (96.5FM) for those unable to attend.

Paul Marshall will take his "new look" representative league team into battle for the first time so all support is welcomed and encouraged.

The game also celebrates 50 years of league football for the Bolton Sunday League and many events are planned for the whole day as well as the exhibition game between the two leagues at 4pm.